FAQ: Regarding Taxes and VAT

Beginning September 1, 2020, depending on your location, we will be collecting local tax or VAT as part of your purchase. Below are some common questions you may have regarding tax collection:

Which purchases will be taxed?

Tax and VAT are collected on all transactions, including initial subscription purchases, subscription renewals, video sales, and video rentals. If you see a tax subtotal then you are in a region where we are legally required to collect and remit tax (listed below). 

How is the amount determined?

Tax rates can vary by location and are based on the rates applicable at the time you are charged. These amounts can change over time with local tax requirements.

Where can I see how much in tax I have to pay?

It is not possible to view your tax rate if your subscription will be renewing. However, taxes in the U.S. generally vary between 4.5% and 10%. If you're making a first-time purchase, you will see your tax rate on the checkout page, which will list the taxes being charged before you purchase, as well as on the receipts that are emailed to you. You can also see this by navigating to the menu in the upper right corner, select Settings > Purchases.

What do I do if I'm exempt from taxes?

If you represent a non-profit organization in the U.S., or are a business entity with a VAT ID, we ask that you first purchase and pay the taxes/VAT and then contact our support team letting us know you are exempt. We will request your tax exemption certificate or VAT ID for verification. 

Our team will refund the tax and mark your account exempt for future purchases. We will provide an invoice reflecting the refunded taxes upon request.

Which US states do you collect tax from?

US customers located in the following states will see tax charged with their purchase:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Washington, D.C.
  • Florida*
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • North Carolina
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

*Florida collects CST on the local and state level, which can have rates of up to 8-14% depending on your local jurisdiction. 

Which Canadian provinces do you collect tax from?

Customers based in all Canadian provinces and territories will have tax included in their purchase; please note these are subject to change per local tax laws.

  • Alberta
  • British Columbia
  • Calgary
  • Manitoba
  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland & Labrador
  • Northwest Territories
  • Nova Scotia
  • Nunavut
  • Ontario
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Quebec
  • Saskatchewan
  • Yukon

Which countries do you collect VAT or tax from?

Customers in the following countries will see tax charged with your purchase:

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Uzbekistan